Taking the time to do the things you love

All too often, we forget to do the things we love. The things that feed our soul. Why? Why do we do these things? And who, or what stops us?Table Mountain

I went to Robben Island recently, with my foreign family, and I left the hubby and kids at home. I took the time to sit up on the top deck… let the wind rush over my face, freeze my fingers and wind itself through my brain dusting out the cobwebs and the responsibilities and the worries.

For the first time in a long time all I needed to do was sit back and enjoy the moment.I didn’t have to watch little fingers, or little legs or make sure someone wasn’t doing something that they shouldn’t be doing or even making sure someone else was fed and watered. All I needed to do was… nothing.

And this made me think about all the things I had not been doing. The things that make me me. The things that make me smile, laugh and fill my soul with light. I had not been creating. Writing, pretending to paint or even arts and crafts.

Don’t get me wrong. I love spending time with my toddler, and I love spending time with my man, but sometimes, occasionally, I need to spend time with me. And it is so nice to reconnect with myself. I love to reconnect – it as if I am meeting an old friend for coffee. We make the time for them, why not for ourselves. My intention is to always make a little bit of me time at the end of the day.

To reconnect with myself. To reconnect with my light. To reconnect with my soul.

And I look forward to my regular dates with me. So, until date night. I say adieu…

Leave a Reply

